Is it Too Hard to Be Happy?

I was visiting with a young woman, recently, and she was complaining of having a bad day. When I greeted her that morning, she started off by complaining about being tired. She had been working on something she didn’t want to be doing the previous few days.

I told her it was her choice to be happy or not. Her reply stunned me! She said,

“It’s too hard to be happy!”

Then I thought back over my life when I was miserable and always complaining. I knew I was supposed to be at peace and be joyous—my religion told me so—but, I wasn’t. Well, let me take that back—I wasn’t on a consistent basis. I was at peace and joyful when conditions were right. If everything was going well, I was happy. As soon as I had an uncomfortable situation rear its head, my mood immediately dropped. Usually with a very loud thud!

The complaining and blaming would commence. I just had to tell everyone my newest plight. I had to get others to see how horribly I had been treated or what new suffering I had to endure. Misery set in for days, weeks—even months.

But now….

But NOW, I am practicing my happiness.

You may ask,

“How do you practice happiness? Is that even possible?”

I am finally learning that by making choices about what I think, will keep me in a better-feeling place.  I am finally learning to practice choosing thoughts that bring relief. I am choosing thoughts that feel better and better.

When some thought knocks on the door of my mind, I look through the peep-hole and see who it is. If I see a thought or thoughts about a situation that I do not want, I stop looking at it through the peep-hole and walk away. Saying, “I so glad I don’t have to answer the door and invite that bad-feeling thought in for coffee.”

I can turn around and choose to look for something to appreciate, something that feels good to think about.

Sometimes, for a while, I can still hear the thought outside my door, yelling and screaming at the top of their lungs to let them in. That they need my immediate attention. That they need to discuss a lot of things. Sometimes, I can still hear their words through the closed door and if I’m not careful to distract myself by looking for things to appreciate, I will start listening to them and give them some attention. But, my god, it feels awful!

I am beginning to really care about how I feel. It’s becoming my priority to make sure I feel better and better every day. When the twins, Appreciation and Gratitude, come knocking, I throw open the door to my mind and say, “Please, do come in and stay a while! We have so much to talk about!”

You know, every now and then, I will see the BFT (Bad-Feeling-Thoughts) run past a window and around to the back door, but I’m so enjoying my visit with the twins that I don’t even bother with their whining.

This little metaphor is to let you know that you are in charge of who you give attention to. Did you notice I said give attention? Yep, it’s your choice to give your attention and time to thoughts. You are the only thinker of your thoughts. No one else can think for you. No one can force you to think thoughts. Thoughts are your very sacred possession! So guard them well.

Now that I am practicing my own happiness and am getting better and better at it every day, I can’t imagine why anyone would want to be unhappy. Why would happiness be harder than being miserable?

For one thing, we don’t like change. We are comfortable with what is. The unknown is a little scary. We may have practiced negative thought patterns for so long, they are almost like a friend. Even though we don’t like them, they’re all we have. We think it’s better to have a crappy friend than no friend at all. We don’t realize what a great friend we have in happiness!

Our old friend, NTP (Negative Thought Pattern) has hung around with us so long they are just second nature. They feel real. We try to think of good things, but NTP keeps butting into the conversation. We are getting really tired of NTP controlling our lives. We are not having a good time and they always bring Trouble.

You’ve heard about the Law of Attraction and all this mindset transformation stuff. You may have even seen some positive changes in some of your friends. You know you want something better.

So, what can we do?

The best way to get rid of NTP is to give some air-time to the twins, Appreciation and Gratitude. Sometimes, those buggers are hard to find, though! Especially at first, you really have to look for them. Don’t let NTP get the best of your attention.

The only thing that’s even remotely hard about happiness is that we have to actually practice thought discipline. Eeuuuwww! There’s that word that sounds hard—discipline!

If you’re too lazy to change your mind, just go take a nap.

Let me share with you how I went from Complaining Princess to Good-Feeling Goddess!

Every morning that I can, I go outside and sit on my wonderful porch and enjoy the early morning air. I look up at the sky and begin a conversation with Source Energy. I begin by appreciating Source for making me the positive affection of their gaze. I express my gratitude for the love I feel flowing to me and through me. I express gratitude for the support I experience with clarity, fun, ease, happiness, peace, harmony, inspiration, everything working out for me, loving relationships, etc. I loop that list over and over until I feel revitalized with good feelings. I list all the things I have that I am appreciating. I appreciate who I am becoming!!

Next I tell my story the way I want it to be—I do not include anything that may reflect a negative what is. This is my visualization time. I tell the story just like I would sit with you and tell you all about the wonderful things that are happening in my life. I make the story very emotional with all the sights, tastes, smells, feelings and what I hear. I am very animated when I tell my story. I make hand gestures, I raise my eyebrows, smile, giggle and do a happy-dance when it comes to that part of the story!!

I do this because I want to feel how real it is, because I know it is real in my vibrational reality. I’ve already created it and I’m just getting lined up vibrationally so it will come out and play with me.

There are so many times that I add another little detail to the story every time I tell it, that makes it even better! I get more clear on the details. Sometimes, I’ll get an inspired idea that I can take action on. Most of all, I do it because it feels really good to tell my story the way I want it to be. As I do this every day that I can, I’m building momentum and my point of attraction is zeroing in on what I want.

This exercise is a wonderful way to get into alignment with who we really are. If you don’t know who you really are, let me just tell you a little about You!

You are…

  • You are an extension of Source Energy
  • You are an eternal being of light and love
  • You are pure, positive energy
  • You are perfection
  • You made you (You the eternal made you the physical)
  • You are worthy of all good things
  • You are ever-expanding, eternally, into a more and more beautiful…YOU!

If you enjoyed this post please share, like and comment! Thanks in advance!!

All is Well!!

MAP 12-2015 rev

Mary Ann Pack

YOUR Life and Wellness Coach

Leave a Reply

